The Working Lunch: Broccoli & Couscous Salad

One of the biggest changes I’ve noticed since starting my new job is how routinized my weekdays have become.  Wake up, get ready, commute, work, commute, eat, clean up, hang out with the boyfriend, shower, read, sleep, repeat.  And while my Type A, to-do-list-making, hyper-organized self enjoys the structure, it makes me especially cherish those free, unscheduled moments.

That’s why I spent a little time coming up with a plan for my weekday lunches.  I’m a big proponent of bringing my lunch, since it generally means cheaper and healthier (and especially during this time of year, more money in my pocket and a few less calories never hurts).  However, the last thing I want to do before going to bed or while I’m trying to get out the door in the morning is pack my lunch.  So I put together a list of easy, healthy recipes with the goal to make one or two over the weekend so I can spend more time doing craft projects and watching christmas movies and less time figuring out what to throw together for lunch each day.  I thought I’d share my favorites here.

This week I made a Broccoli & Couscous salad.  Couscous cooks in less than 10 minutes, and the rest of the salad comes together just as quickly, making it perfect to put together anytime, even on a weeknight.  The whole wheat couscous, broccoli, and chickpeas pack a nutritional punch, while the sweetness of golden raisins and the saltiness of feta provide a nice balance of flavors.  Add just enough olive oil and vinegar for  a hint of richness and tang, and you have a simple, delicious lunch.

Broccoli & Couscous Salad (recipe adapted from Whole Living)

2/3 cup whole wheat couscous

2 cups broccoli florets, chopped into bite-sized pieces

1 cup cooked chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/4 cup golden raisins

1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese

4 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

coarse salt and freshly ground black pepper

  1. Bring 2/3 cup lightly salted water to a boil in a medium saucepan.  Add couscous, cover, and remove from heat.  Let couscous stand until tender, 5 minutes.  Fluff with a fork and transfer to a bowl.
  2. Meanwhile, lightly steam broccoli on the stovetop or in the microwave until crisp-tender.  Add to the bowl, along with the chickpeas, raisins, and feta.  Add oil and vinegar and toss.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Makes 2 servings.

The ingredients can easily be adapted to fit whatever you have on hand.  It would be delicious with roasted butternut squash, goat cheese, and apple cider vinegar.  Or replace the broccoli with marinated artichokes.  Add leftover chicken, tofu, or steak.  This salad is your oyster (sorta).

Leave a comment